Skip to Main Content

Congratulations to the 17 members of the U of T engineering community who have just become Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE). Professors Stavros Argyropoulos (MSE), Bruce Francis (ECE), Andrew Goldenberg (MIE), Farid Najm (ECE), Torstein Utigard (MSE), Safwat Zaky (ECE), David Zingg (UTIAS) and Jean Zu (MIE) were inducted into the CAE on June 3, along with alumni Omar Abd El Halim (MASc. CivE 7T9), J. Douglas Boyd (MSE 6T2), Tom Closson (MIE 7T1), Sheldon Green (EngSci 8T4), Eugene Polistuk (ECE 6T9), Phillip (Rocky) Simmons (ChemE, 6T4, 6T5, 6T8), David Wilkinson (EngSci 7T2, MASc. MSE 7T4). Other inductees include Honorary Degree recipient Frank Frantisak and former MIE Chair David Sanborn Scott.

The CAE comprises the country’s most accomplished engineers, who have demonstrated their dedication to the application of science and engineering principles in the interests of Canada and its enterprises. Forty-eight new Members were inducted this year, 17 of which are affiliated with U of T.

Using novel experimental techniques coupled with mathematical modeling, Stavros Argyropoulos has established a comprehensive knowledge base pertaining to the thermo-chemical principles that govern in-situ and interfacial reactions during the alloying of molten metals. He has also pioneered the development of an innovative sensor to measure the magnitude and direction of velocities in high temperature liquid metals.

Bruce Francis is a highly respected educator and researcher in the area of control theory; authoring several influential textbooks, as well as award-winning and highly-cited articles. He is one of only 15 engineering researchers in Canada to be listed on ISI’s ‘Highly Cited’ website. Professor Francis has developed groundbreaking algorithms for control design, which are widely used in commercial software. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

The Founder and Director of the Robotics & Automation Laboratory, Andrew Goldenberg’s research has resulted in 33 patents, more than 125 peer-reviewed journal papers, and 12 chapters in books. Professor Goldenberg is the founder and President of two spin-off companies, Engineering Services Inc. and Anviv Mechatronics Inc., which provide state-of-the-art robotics and mechatronics technology. He is a Fellow of IEEE and American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

Farid Najm is Chair of The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE). His ground-breaking work is focused on managing the design challenges related to power dissipation and circuit timing. Professor Najm has authored over 125 journal and conference publications and has contributed to three books. Much of his research is considered seminal and has been widely referenced in academia and used in industry. He is an IEEE Fellow.

Holder of the Gerald R. Heffernan Chair in Materials Processing, Torstein Utigard has established an international reputation as an outstanding researcher in the science and technology of pyrometallurgical processing of non-ferrous metals. With over 150 publications, 11 patents and three others pending, Professor Utigard has pioneered numerous developments pertaining to the physical chemistry aspects of metals refining.

Safwat Zaky has a long record of exemplary service as a leader in engineering education.  As Vice-Provost, Planning and Budget, he introduced a new, more transparent budget model which changed academic and financial planning in the University in a fundamental way.  Professor Zaky also served as Chair of ECE, spearheading a major curriculum redevelopment and initiating some of Canada’s first industry-university research partnerships.

David Zingg is Director of the University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies (UTIAS), and holds the Canada Research Chair in Computational Aerodynamics and Environmentally Friendly Aircraft Design. He has made fundamental contributions in algorithms for computational fluid dynamics and aircraft design, as well as aerodynamic shape optimization. In 2004, he was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship to pursue the aerodynamic design of novel aircraft configurations with reduced greenhouse emissions.

Jean Zu is Chair of the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE). Her research focuses on vibrations and dynamics, particularly in relation to automotive belts and serpentine belt drive systems, and has resulted in a number of extremely successful partnerships with automotive firms. Professor Zu has served as President of the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME) and as a member of the National Council of the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC). She is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), ASME, CSME and EIC.

“The unprecedented election of 17 U of T engineers to the Canadian Academy of Engineering confirms our reputation as the premier engineering institution in Canada,” said Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering. “I am grateful to the Academy for this recognition and to all the inductees, alumni and professors, whose exceptional contributions help further distinguish our Faculty as a world leader.”

The new Fellows were inducted during the CAE’s 2010 Annual General Meeting in Toronto, hosted by Professor and Dean Emeritus Michael Charles, President-Elect of CAE.

Media Contact

Fahad Pinto
Communications & Media Relations Strategist