Skip to Main Content

January 20, 2009

Part of the Engineering Leaders of Tomorrow program, this series was the idea of Jonathan Rose, Chair of The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Introduced in 2004, this seminar series is run by ECE for all students of the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering. It is intended to help cultivate a “culture” of entrepreneurism among students and is founded on the premise that stories of successful entrepreneurial ventures will inspire students to create their own companies.

Since its establishment, the series has attracted a highly impressive list of speakers. Participating this year are Howard Goodfellow (Techint Good Fellow Technologies Inc.), Rocky Simmons (Eco-Tec), Thomas Tewoldemedhim (TNTech Canada), Ben Tseng (Cisco Systems), Richard Cantin (Everus Communications Inc.), Mike Branch (Inovex), Tom Frencel (Capybara Games Inc.) Steven Green, and Gino Palumbo (Integran Technologies Inc.).

For further details:

Speakers from 2007-2008

  • Mark Fox (Novator Systems Ltd.)
  • Mark Kerbel (REGEN Energy)
  • Richard Reiner (Assurent Secure Technologies, TELUS)
  • Mike Stumm (OANDA)
  • Arshia Tabrizi (Tabrizi Law)
  • George Takach (McCarthy Tetrault)
  • Steven Thorpe (The Business of Hydrogen)
  • Xerxes Wania (Sidense Corp.)
  • Harry Zarek (Compugen Inc.)

Speakers from 2006-2007

  • Max-Phillippe Hollott (Growthworks Capital Ltd.)
  • Doug Hunter (Upper Canada Ethanol Inc.)
  • Bobby John (Caught in the Web)
  • Kevin Schultz (SiberCore)
  • Farhad Shafai (Corporate Ventures)
  • Kevin Talbot (Corporate Ventures)
  • Branko Zatezalo (Mpathix Inc.)

Speakers from 2005-2006

  • Don Wilson and Les Truxa (Virtually Perfect Golf)
  • Angel Mehta (Sterling-Hoffman)
  • Bill Wignall (Electronics Workbench)
  • Wally Pieczonka (Gennum Corporation)
  • Andrew Harrison (Celtic House Venture Partners)
  • Rene McIver (Bioscrypt Inc.)
  • Sam Lightstone (IBM)

Speakers from 2004-2005

  • Paul Chen (Fortiva)
  • Bobby John (1998 Bank of Canada’s Entrepreneur of the Year Award)
  • Les Organ (OWL Instruments Ltd. & Z-Tech Inc.)
  • Eugene Polistuk (Celestica)

Media Contact

Fahad Pinto
Communications & Media Relations Strategist