Skip to Main Content

Congratulations to MIE Professors Aimy Bazylak, Markus Bussmann, Javad Mostaghimi, James Wallace, Lidan You and Jean Zu, who have been honoured by the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME) for their achievements in, and contributions to, mechanical engineering. The six professors took all six of the available CSME awards.

Aimy Bazylak is the 2011 recipient of the I.W. Smith Award for outstanding achievement in creative mechanical engineering within ten years of graduation. Since joining the Faculty in 2008, she has already developed a strong research program in microscale transport for clean energy systems, particularly multiphase transport in polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells. Professor Bazylak is the recipient of the inaugural Bullitt Foundation Environmental Fellowship. In 2010, she published eight refereed journal articles and was a panelist on the CBC radio program Quirks and Quarks.

Currently serving as Associate Chair, Graduate Studies for MIE, Markus Bussmann has been inducted as a CSME Fellow, a recognition awarded those who have attained excellence in mechanical engineering and contributed actively to the progress of their profession and society. Professor Bussmann’s research involves the development of CFD algorithms for modelling interfacial and contact line phenomena. He serves as Director of the CFD Society of Canada, and in 2010, chaired the SciNet Resource Allocation Committee. A dedicated educator, he received MIE’s Teaching Award in 2009.

Javad Mostaghimi has been awarded the 2011 Jules Stachiewicz Medal for outstanding contributions to heat transfer in Canada. Professor Mostaghimi is the University of Toronto Distinguished Professor in Plasma Engineering. He is the founder of the Canadian Centre for Advanced Coating Technologies and three successful spin-off companies, and author of over 300 publications. The co-recipient of the 2010 NSERC Brockhouse Canada Prize, Professor Mostaghimi is a Fellow of AAAS, ASME, CAE, CSME, EIC and the Japan Society for Promotion of Science.

The recipient of the 2011 Robert W. Angus Medal for outstanding contributions to the management and practice of mechanical engineering, James Wallace’s research focuses on reducing automobile exhaust emissions through the use of alternative fuels. Professor Wallace is a former Chair of MIE and continues to contribute to the curriculum, spearheading the introduction of programs on Mechatronics and Information Engineering. He is a Fellow of CSME, EIC and SAE, and has received the SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award and the MIE Teaching Award.

Lidan You is this year’s recipient of the G.H. Duggan Medal, awarded annually for the best paper dealing with the use of advanced materials for structural or mechanical purposes. Jointly appointed to IBBME, Professor You’s research is focused on solving biomechanical questions related to the muscular-skeletal system at the cellular level. She was recognized for her paper “3D Microfluidic Approach to Mechanical Stimulation of Osteocyte Processes”, published in Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering.

MIE Chair Jean Zu has received the 2011 C.N. Downing Award for distinguished service to CSME over many years. Professor Zu served as President of CSME from 2006-2008. In this role, she restored regional activities throughout the country, implemented an online membership database and created close ties between CSME and NSERC. She is currently President-Elect of the Engineering Institute of Canada and serves on the Canadian National Committee for the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics.  Professor Zu is a Fellow of AAAS, ASME, CAE and EIC.

“We are grateful to CSME for recognizing six of our faculty members for their exemplary contributions to mechanical engineering,” said Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering. “I congratulate these professors for their many achievements and the department as a whole for this outstanding result.”

The CSME Awards recipients will be honoured at the CSME Awards Ceremony on June 6, 2011 in Vancouver, B.C.

Media Contact

Fahad Pinto
Communications & Media Relations Strategist