Skip to Main Content

Congratulations to the ten U of T engineers inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) today. Professor Elizabeth Edwards (ChemE), along with alumni John Bianchini (ChemE 8T5), Allan Carswell (EngPhys 5T6), David Colcleugh (ChemE 5T9 MASc 6T0 PhD 6T2), Anton Davies (MechE 7T2 MASc 7T4 PhD 7T7), Hank Edamura (CivE 6T0), Peter Halsall (CivE 7T7), Gino Palumbo (MMS 8T3, MASc 8T5, PhD 8T9), Dawn Tattle (CivE 8T5) and Thomas Tiedje (EngSci 7T3) are among the 45 2011 Fellows selected by CAE. The CAE comprises the country’s most accomplished engineers, who have demonstrated their dedication to the application of science and engineering principles in the interests of Canada and its enterprises.

A superb process engineer and global business leader, John Bianchini began his career at Hatch in 1985 and was appointed Director – Non Ferrous in 1999. He was elected to the Hatch Board of Directors in 2003 and is currently the Global Managing Director of their Mining and Metals Division. Mr. Bianchini’s ability to respond to the unique technological and environmental needs of clients has played a large part in the expansion of Hatch’s Mining and Metals operations throughout the world, contributing to the tremendous growth of this Canadian company.

Allan Carswell is an internationally recognized engineer, academic and entrepreneur in the field of laser radar (lidar) applications. The author of more than 250 scientific and technical publications, Dr. Carswell is the founder of Optech Inc., the world’s leading developer and manufacturer of commercial lidar systems. He has served as President of the Canadian Association of Physicists and Vice-President of the Canadian Academy of Science, and is a Board member of several research institutes and corporations.

Dr. David Colcleugh has exemplified leadership and dedication in both the business world and the community. As the former Chairman, President and CEO of DuPont Canada, and as a Director and Chair on other corporate boards, Dr. Colcleugh has advocated for greater corporate responsibility and sustainable growth. In particular, he was instrumental in developing Responsible Care, the chemical industry’s global voluntary initiative under which companies work to continuously improve their health, safety and environmental performance.

Anton Davies, Vice-President and co-founder of Rowan Williams Davies and Irwin Inc. (RWDI), is a renowned scientist and engineer in the fields of wind engineering, air quality and sustainable design, and has published numerous articles on these subjects. As one of the Principals in charge of RWDI’s Environmental Team, he has directed many of the firm’s major environmental projects worldwide. Dr. Davies has been a member of several governmental advisory boards and committees on environmental improvement.

Since graduating from the University of Toronto, Hank Edamura has spent his career with world-renowned engineering firm MMM Group Limited, where he established himself as an expert in the project and design management of airports. His engineering, managerial, leadership and team-building skills helped MMM become a world leader in all aspects of airport development, from conceptual design to implementation, working on some of the largest airports around the globe.

Professor Elizabeth Edwards is an outstanding educator, engineer and researcher, whose research has been instrumental in finding effective ways to remove industrial pollutants from our soil and water. Professor Edwards has developed a microbial culture called KB-1, which destroys some of the world’s most widespread groundwater contaminants at less than half the cost of traditional methods. Her research has garnered a NSERC Synergy Award for Innovation and a Killam Fellowship from the Canada Council, among other prestigious awards.

As President of Halsall Associates, (one of Canada’s leading engineering companies and a leader in providing green building services), Peter Halsall has led the charge to integrate sustainability into Canada’s urban realm. His service on the Waterfront Toronto and City of Toronto Design Review Panels, as well as his firm’s signature works – from green building projects to planning input for eco-villages and net carbon zero communities – are testament to his ability to envision a better future and to engage others in making it a reality.

Gino Palumbo exemplifies an engineer capable of transforming basic scientific research into a world-class enterprise. His company, Integran Technologies Inc., creates nanotechnology applications used in the transformation of metals; it holds the first US patent issued in nanotechnology. Dr. Palumbo has since pioneered the development of low-cost, high-performance materials used in hip and knee implants, ultra-strong and lightweight golf clubs and automotive parts, and many other aerospace and defense applications.

Dawn Tattle has served since 1997 as President of Anchor Shoring & Caissons Ltd., a highly respected firm specializing in innovative soil retention and engineering foundation solutions. In this role she provides leadership and creative engineering on high-profile, complex projects. Ms. Tattle is committed to increasing the representation of women in engineering, serving as a role-model and mentor to young women considering or establishing careers in this field. She was named one of Canada’s 100 Most Powerful Women in 2008 and 2010.

Thomas Tiedje has contributed significantly to the development of engineering and scientific knowledge in the field of new semiconductor materials, through advanced research, publishing of refereed journal articles, eliciting numerous patents and supervising award-winning graduate students. In 1987, he joined UBC, where he was the first Director of the Advanced Materials and Process Engineering Lab and Head of Physics and Astronomy. He now serves as Dean of the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Victoria.

“The election of so many U of T engineers to CAE Fellow is both an honour and a testament to the excellence of the Faculty,” said Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering. “The citations for these new Fellows illustrate the exceptional and varied achievements of our faculty and alumni. On behalf of the Faculty, I offer them all my heartiest congratulations.”

Read more about the award recipients in the Daily Commercial News

Media Contact

Fahad Pinto
Communications & Media Relations Strategist