Skip to Main Content
Dean Cristina Amon (left) with 2017 EAN Award recipients at Hart House on Nov. 2, 2017. (L-R): Alex Perelgut; Don Andrew; Tom Siddon; Christopher Wilmer; Rocco Leonard Martino; Kathy Milsom; Andrew Gillies; Allan Kuan; Jonathan Rose and Tom Chau. (Photo: Michael Tenaglia)

Ten exemplary members of U of T Engineering’s alumni community were recognized on Thursday, Nov. 2 at the Engineering Alumni Network (EAN) Awards.

The ceremony, held annually at the Great Hall at Hart House, celebrates alumni for their outstanding contributions to the Skule™ community as well as their remarkable career achievements.

“These alumni are exceptional ambassadors of Faculty in industry, government, entrepreneurship and academia,” said Dean Cristina Amon. “Their tremendous contributions to their fields and to our Faculty are testament to the strength of our alumni community. On behalf of our U of T Engineering community, I would like to extend my most heartfelt gratitude and warmest congratulations.”

See below for video testimonials from this year’s EAN Award winners.

View photos from the ceremony on Flickr.

Engineering Alumni Hall of Distinction Award

The Hall of Distinction is an assembly of extraordinary alumni, selected for membership by their peers for their lifelong accomplishments. These are graduates whose performances have ultimately defined what is most exemplary in our graduates and in our profession. The careers of the members stand as examples and add a sense of reality to the aspirations of successive generations of Engineering students. Located in the Sandford Fleming Building, the Hall of Distinction is a familiar daily presence in the lives of students and is often visited by alumni and their families.

Rocco Leonard Martino (UTIAS PhD 5T6)

Kathy Milsom (CivE 8T3)

Jonathan Rose (EngSci 8T0, ECE MASc 8T2, PhD 8T6)

Tom Siddon (UTIAS MASc 6T6, PhD 6T9)

2T5 Mid-Career Achievement Award

The Class of 2T5 was the first class in Canada to receive iron rings at The Ritual of the Calling of an Engineer. Since 1975, the Class of 2T5 annually presents the 2T5 Mid-career Achievement Award. This award recognizes a graduate (11 to 25 years from undergraduate graduation) who has earned respect within the profession as well as the broader Canadian community.

Tom Chau (EngSci 9T2, ECE MASc 9T4)

7T6 Early Career Award

The Class of 7T6 annually presents the 7T6 Early Career Award to engineering graduates who have attained significant achievement early in their career and shows promise of further contributions. The award is presented to an individual who is distinguished early in their profession, community, university and other related fields.

Andrew Gillies (MechE 0T7)

Christopher Wilmer (EngSci 0T7)

Malcolm F. McGrath Alumni Achievement Award

Named in honour of Malcolm McGrath on his retirement as assistant dean — alumni liaison, this award recognizes contributions of personal service to the Faculty, the University or to the community. McGrath was the first assistant dean responsible for alumni affairs and development in the Faculty. Among his many accomplishments are the growth of the Annual Fund, the Engineering Open House, the introduction of the Skule™ Stage Band, and the establishment of the Graditude Campaign.

 Don Andrew (CivE 5T4)

L.E. (Ted) Jones Award of Distinction

This award was established to acknowledge the contributions of Professor Emeritus L.E. (Ted) Jones and is in recognition of the contributions over his long and distinguished career to students, alumni and the Faculty. It also pays tribute to his continuing support and dedication to the Engineering Society and the Engineering Alumni Network (EAN) of the University of Toronto. The award endorses Jones’ great appreciation of the arts and his love of music.

Allan Kuan (EngSci 1T4 + PEY, CivE PhD Candidate)

Alex Perelgut (EngSci 1T6 + PEY)

Media Contact

Fahad Pinto
Communications & Media Relations Strategist