Skip to Main Content
Professor Susan McCahan is the 2014 recipient of the ASEE Sharon Keillor Award (Photo: Liz Do).

Vice-Dean, Undergraduate Susan McCahan and MIE Chair Jean Zu have been recognized by the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) for their contributions to engineering education. Professor McCahan is the 2014 recipient of the ASEE Sharon Keillor Award for Women in Engineering Education, which honours a female educator who has an outstanding record in teaching engineering. Professor Zu has won the 2014 ASEE Donald E. Marlowe Award for Distinguished Education Administration, given to an administrator who makes significant ongoing contributions to education for engineering. Susan McCahan is a gifted educator who has shown a continuing commitment to improving students’ learning experience. In 2002, she spearheaded the development and implementation of the Faculty’s flagship course, “Engineering Strategies and Practice”. In 2006 she was appointed first-year chair, and oversaw the development of programs that significantly improved student retention. Serving as vice-dean, undergraduate since 2011, McCahan created two graduate level courses in the area of teaching and learning, and has been key in developing the Faculty’s new graduate program in engineering education. She has received several honours for her teaching and educational initiatives, including the U of T President’s Teaching Award, the 3M National Teaching Fellowship, the Alan Blizzard Award, the Engineers Canada Medal of Distinction in Engineering Education and the OCUFA Teaching Award.

Jean Zu
Professor Jean Zu has won the 2014 ASEE Donald E. Marlowe Award for
Distinguished Education Administration (Photo: Mark Balson).

Jean Zu has served as chair of the department of mechanical and industrial engineering since 2009. In this role, she has introduced a new focus on design, spearheading the creation of capstone design courses and multinational industry-sponsored capstone projects, as well as the Institute for Multidisciplinary Design. She has also promoted and supported student clubs and co-curricular activities, and encouraged student involvement in the development of departmental policies. At the graduate level, the industrial partnerships, international exchanges and leading-edge research centres she has initiated have led to increased research and educational opportunities for the Faculty’s students. Professor Zu is a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada, the Canadian Academy of Engineering and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She is currently president of the Engineering Institute of Canada. “These two outstanding educators have had a transformative impact on student learning and student experience,” said Dean Cristina Amon. “Their recognition by this prestigious society is a testament to that impact, and to the exceptional calibre and dedication of our professors and administrative leaders.” Professors McCahan and Zu will be honoured at the 2014 ASEE Annual Conference and Exposition’s Awards Ceremony, on June 16, 2014 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Media Contact

Fahad Pinto
Communications & Media Relations Strategist