Skip to Main Content
Newly elected Fellows of the Engineering Institute of Canada (from left:) Professor Nasser Ashgriz, Professor Shahrokh Valaee and Professor Christopher Yip.

Professors Nasser Ashgriz (MIE), Shahrokh Valaee (ECE) and Christopher Yip (ChemE, IBBME) have been elected Fellows of the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC), on the basis of “exceptional contributions to engineering in Canada.” The EIC is a federation of Canadian engineering societies that sponsors education standards, recognizes individual engineers and records engineering history.

Nasser Ashgriz has made outstanding contributions in the area of fluid dynamics with widespread relevance across industry and society. His research has contributed to improvements in items ranging from fuel injectors to solid and liquid propellant rocket engines to ink-jet printers. His collaborations have spanned several industries, including auto, aerospace, utilities, pulp and paper and printing. Professor Ashgriz’s achievements have been recognized with a number of prestigious awards, including the TOKTEN (Transfer of Knowledge Through Expatriate Nationals) Award from the United Nations and the Ralph Teetor Award from the Society of Automotive Engineers. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Shahrokh Valaee, Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies in The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, has made significant contributions in the areas of signal processing and communications networks throughout his career. In particular, his work on distributed source localization has created a new research area and established him as a leader in the field of signal processing. Professor Valaee has an outstanding record of leadership in his professional community. He is the Editor of IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications and has served on the Technical Program Committee of more than 70 international conferences and symposiums. Professor Valaee is an Honorary Member of The Canadian Society of Iranian Engineers and Architects and a Senior Member of IEEE.

Christopher Yip serves as the Director of the Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering. He was elected for his innovative research focusing on the development and application of tools for measuring the biophysical characteristics of single molecules. Professor Yip is also an outstanding teacher, educating students at all levels at the critical interdisciplinary junction between medicine and engineering. He contributes to the teaching programs of the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering and the Faculty of Medicine and has won teaching awards from both faculties. Professor Yip is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He held the Canada Research Chair in Molecular Imaging from 2000-2010.

“We are delighted that the Engineering Institute of Canada has recognized the achievements of these outstanding engineers,” said Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering. “On behalf of the Faculty, I congratulate them for their many accomplishments and thank them for their contributions to U of T and to the engineering profession.”

New Fellows will be honoured at the EIC’s Annual Awards Gala in Ottawa on March 15, 2014, presided over by Professor Jean Zu (MIE), EIC President.

Media Contact

Fahad Pinto
Communications & Media Relations Strategist